Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Demolition / Remodel techniques

Anonymous
Not applicable
I am fairly new to ArchiCAD. I am wondering how most people approach the problem of a remodel. Working in 2D it is very easy with 3D it seems that you would end up with a very confusing model. Any and all tips are appreciated.

Best regards - Chris
10 REPLIES 10
TomWaltz
Participant
The big keys are layers, intersection settings, and layer combinations.

If you model everything on corresponding Existing, Demo, and New layers, you can keep everything straight.

My personal ideal is that if something only shows up in one drawing, draw it in 2D. If something shows up in multiple drawings, model it.
Tom Waltz
Anonymous
Not applicable
I have done a lot of work on that area.
At first, I found it took a LOT of effort to put everything into 3D. Sometimes I was building stuff that would not be used, or would not be altered, like ironworks and stuff.
I doubted that it was worth the effort.
But this is what I found out:
Before we had computer aid, the classic approach to do some renovation project was first to go to the building, and spend a lot of time sketching its details. Not only taking photos, but actually drawing the various components, allowed you to integrate the building into your mind, to become very familiar with all its visual and structural characteristics.
Now, building it into the computer has the same results. You become intimate with everything about the building. This is great, because when you go to the next stage, which is trying out some solutions, you already have them pretty much nailed down.
To give you an example: