Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

NEED HELP...ArchiCAD 6.0 Question

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi i'm new here. I have a question that i hope someone will be able to answer for me. I have ArchiCAD 6.0 and i was wondering if ArchiCAD 8.0 is much different? The reason i'm asking is because i need to know how to use ArchiCAD, and i want to purchase a step by step guide. I can't find anything on ArchiCAD 6.0 as its old and i was wondering if 8.0 will be helpful to me?

If it is can anyone suggest a book that will help me learn the program.
I studied it in University a few years ago but i honestly can not remember very well.

Hope to hear from you soon.

Regards
Julie
Xamp Designs
7 REPLIES 7
Karl Ottenstein
Julesinozz wrote:
Hi i'm new here. I have a question that i hope someone will be able to answer for me. I have ArchiCAD 6.0 and i was wondering if ArchiCAD 8.0 is much different? The reason i'm asking is because i need to know how to use ArchiCAD, and i want to purchase a step by step guide. I can't find anything on ArchiCAD 6.0 as its old and i was wondering if 8.0 will be helpful to me?
After 6.0, the next major revision was 6.5, then 7.0, 8.0, 8.1 and now 9.0. Indeed, 8.0 is substantially different from 6.0 and you would get quite confused I think trying to learn to use 6.0 with an 8.0 book.

There was a 6.5 "training guide" ... which would probably be helpful. Maybe there was a 6.0 version too? Perhaps someone on this list from Australia has an old copy they would be willing to send you... Have you contacted your local reseller?

Karl
One of the forum moderators
AC 27 USA and earlier   •   macOS Ventura 13.6.6, MacBook Pro M2 Max 12CPU/30GPU cores, 32GB
Anonymous
Not applicable
Julesinozz wrote:

If it is can anyone suggest a book that will help me learn the program.
I studied it in University a few years ago but i honestly can not remember very well.

Julie,