Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.
SOLVED!

What is the accepted practice in creating composites for floors?

4hotshoes
Advisor
I know I can build a composite floor with all of the material layers (Drywall ceiling below, Joist, OSB sub-floor, hardwood finish). However, for construction drawing dimensions, I don't need the Drywall or hardwood layers when figuring structure: bearing heights or floor to floor heights (also, how do these composite layers effect the stair?). Yet, I would like to see them in 3D and in the detailed wall section. But I want to show them so they do not mess up the stud wall heights. I am completely new to how this can be managed, if it can. I suspect that it can. But where do I begin? Is there a training video that addresses this?

Thanks
Todd
Todd Oeftger
AC27 Mac MacBook Pro 15", 2019, 2.3 GHz i9, 32GB, Radeon Pro 560X 4GB, 500GB SSD, 32" Samsung Display (2560x1440)
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Karl Ottenstein
4hotshoes wrote:
I know I can build a composite floor with all of the material layers (Drywall ceiling below, Joist, OSB sub-floor, hardwood finish). However, for construction drawing dimensions, I don't need the Drywall or hardwood layers when figuring structure: bearing heights or floor to floor heights ...
Hi Todd. This is what Partial Structure Display (PSD) is for. You tag the drywall and hardwood layers of the composite as "finishes", tag the joists and subfloor as the structural 'core' - and then save the desired PSD setting - entire, without finishes, core only - with the view to see what you want.

In your case, you would want without finishes for your construction drawings it sounds like (I would include them - as without the drywall and flooring, you cannot dimension and guarantee that you meet minimum code ceiling height for example). Structural drawings would of course typically be core only, and in some cases, load bearing only.