BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Working with Point Clouds

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi there!

I work for a company that produces Scan to BIM/as-built models primarily in Revit. Currently we work with FARO scanners and our data is processed in Scene and exported to formats compatible with Revit.

After learning that ArchiCAD 19 has the ability to bring in point cloud data I wanted to try it myself, so I am currently in the middle of my 1 month trial period. It's worth noting that I have never used ArchiCAD before so please bear with me!

I imported my black and white point clouds using both XYZ and e57 formats. I found that the e57 came in showing every point as absolute black whilst the XYZ seemed to display correctly. Is there some sort of option or setting I am missing that might cause this display issue?

Also, whilst importing point clouds, converting it and placing it based on the point clouds origin point works correctly upon initial import, if I later remove the point cloud and then replace it as an 'object' I can no longer place it by origin point and instead by a weighted central point of the point cloud. Again I am not sure if this is just my lack of knowledge with the software or if the feature is not in this version of the software.

I did search the forum and came across this topic, but there didn't seem to be a clear answer either way.

Thank you in advance for your help!

Simon
11 REPLIES 11
fuzzytnth3
Booster
I take it you watched this movie?

Movie
AC versions 3.41 to 25 (UKI Full 5005).
Using AC25 5005 UKI FULL
Mac OSX 10.15.7 (19G2021) Mac Pro-2013 32gbRam AMD FirePro D500 3072 MB graphics
Anonymous
Not applicable
fuzzytnth3 wrote:
I take it you watched this movie?

Movie
Hi!