cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
2024 Technology Preview Program

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

how can i wrap the plaster around the beam and floor ?

Anonymous
Not applicable



hello guys. İ want to learn something about the problem which is about plaster wrapping around the beam. i want to have a shape like the Picture but i only can make this with in a worksheet. thanks for your answers..
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable
I would either make the beam out of a custom profile with the and just use and SEO operation to cut out the drywall as needed, or I would model the drywall in separately.
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Acousticarch,
You don't say what version of Archicad you are using (you should ideally add a brief description to your signature in the "Profile" link at the top of this forum so it is there in all your posts).

If you are using version 17 then it is quite easy with the new junction priorities.
Make sure "Legacy" mode has been turned off if you are using a file created in an older version.
Then so long as your Building Materials all have the correct priority strengths (i.e. concrete is stronger than brickwork which is stronger than mortar and plaster, etc.) they should all cut each other appropriately in 3D and section.

In older version (pre 17) you will need to model it as it is built or use patches in section to hide the joins and make them look correct.

Barry.
junctions_in_17.jpg
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
i7-10700 @ 2.9Ghz, 32GB ram, GeForce RTX 2060 (6GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Anonymous
Not applicable
i am sorry but i tried it and it didn't work. The Picture which you send is actually the thing what i want to do. But i can't do. Can you send me a template for this? Maybe i can find my mistake. Thank you so much.
Barry Kelly
Moderator
You still haven't told us what version of Archicad you are using.
The answer will be different depending on the version you have.
Barry.
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
i7-10700 @ 2.9Ghz, 32GB ram, GeForce RTX 2060 (6GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Anonymous
Not applicable
i am sorry. My archicad version is 17.
Barry Kelly
Moderator
OK so the first thing with 17 is to make sure that the 'Use Legacy Intersection methods' is turned off.

Barry.
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
i7-10700 @ 2.9Ghz, 32GB ram, GeForce RTX 2060 (6GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Barry Kelly
Moderator
Now you will need to set up composites for your walls and slabs.
Each skin of the composite will be a Building Material - more on this in a minute.

You can't have composites for beams so you will need to create a 'Complex Profile' using fills to represent the skins (concrete, plaster, etc.) that you require to see in your details.
In the Profile Manager be sure to set the fills for each skin to use Building Materials.

You will also need to ensure that you have your Building Materials set up properly.
By this I mean you need to apply a priority number (strength) to each material.
The higher the number the stronger the material will be and it will automatically cut weaker materials when you view your model in 3D or section.

If this still doesn't get you any where than explain what is not clear and show a screen shot if possible.


Barry.
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
i7-10700 @ 2.9Ghz, 32GB ram, GeForce RTX 2060 (6GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello I'm a student using Archicad 23 student version. I created a complex profile for beam where in I added different internal plaster (on inner side and bottom) as well as external plaster (different thickness and material, on the external side. Now extending the same beam ahead, I want to create a cantilever beam tapering towards the end from the bottom. I tried doing that using segment option in beam settings. But since it was a complex profile, it wouldn't let me alter the cross section. How can I achieve it?
.
Barry wrote:
Now you will need to set up composites for your walls and slabs.
Each skin of the composite will be a Building Material - more on this in a minute.

You can't have composites for beams so you will need to create a 'Complex Profile' using fills to represent the skins (concrete, plaster, etc.) that you require to see in your details.
In the Profile Manager be sure to set the fills for each skin to use Building Materials.

You will also need to ensure that you have your Building Materials set up properly.
By this I mean you need to apply a priority number (strength) to each material.
The higher the number the stronger the material will be and it will automatically cut weaker materials when you view your model in 3D or section.

If this still doesn't get you any where than explain what is not clear and show a screen shot if possible.


Barry.
Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin
There is the Tapering option for Beam Segments, using which you can increase/decrease the width/height of Segments.
Or, if you have a more complex Profile geometry, you can create Parametric Profile Modifiers, which will let you taper more complex Profiles as well:

Loving Archicad since 1995 - Find Archicad Tips at x.com/laszlonagy
AMD Ryzen9 5900X CPU, 64 GB RAM 3600 MHz, Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, 500 GB NVMe SSD
2x28" (2560x1440), Windows 10 PRO ENG, Ac20-Ac27