Almost 30 Years of Great relationship!

Celia Matsuda
Graphisoft
Graphisoft

In 1995, I graduated from Liceu de Artes e Oficio with a technical high school degree in Civil Construction Design. I worked part-time in an architectural office throughout college.

I was accepted to the Mackenzie University for Architecture and Urbanism in São Paulo, Brazil. In those days, we first drew in pencil on tracing paper and if everything was correct, we redrew with a Naquin pen and Normographer.

I shudder even today remembering how much work was involved and the amount time wasted when I needed to change the view of a frame with shutters that had been modified. I even felt a little dissatisfied because of the amount of time required on the mechanical and manual functions. During my college years what with working, studying, and preparing college papers, I was always tired. So the time for resting and going out with my friends on the weekends was almost impossible.

One day, getting copies and doing handouts at DAFAM (the Mackenzie Architecture academic center), I came across an ad for an internship in an Apple reseller in Sao Paulo, selling a revolutionary software for Architects.

In those days (1995), there wasn’t any internet only a specific communication called BBS (Bulletin Board System) via dial-up modem even before the ICQ that appeared in 1996. Something I had no idea what it was because I didn't have a computer, nor access to information other than through Public Libraries or newspapers.

This Archicad version 4.55 software was terrific. The automatic cuts, 3D, render, sketch filters in the rendering, and automatic change of documentation of even the horrible sashes with shutters!!!!!

To my surprise, I was the hired intern.

My first week working, my boss locked me in the meeting room with 1 Power Macintosh 6200 series computer, Archicad 4.55, installed along with a manual in English for me to read and learn by myself.

CeliaMatsuda_0-1660510218903.jpeg