The Trainee's Guide to the Graphisoft

Oleksandra Vakariuk
Graphisoft
Graphisoft

My nostalgia doesn’t go way back, in fact, I’m used to hearing people share they have been working in Graphisoft for as long as I exist. I’ve been a trainee at the Budapest office for a bit more than two years now, and it’s sure fun here. I never would have imagined I’d be dancing to 80s hits I heard my parents listen to at the office terrace during a team building.

I learned about Graphisoft, and Archicad in particular, in the university where I study. We’re lucky to have representatives from the Budapest office to teach an advanced course there. I still remember learning about Master Layouts and Drawings five minutes before the test from Szabi Miko, thanks to him I got a 5 that day.

Even during the classes, our teachers mentioned many times that they’re looking for trainees and everyone is welcome to apply, but to be honest, I was afraid I’m not geeky enough. They talked about Archicad features, BIM, and other software like there’s nothing to it. And probably I wouldn’t apply if it wasn’t for the email they sent at the end of the semester when I so originally thought ‘why not, there's no harm in trying’.

I took this photo while waiting for the interviewers to arrive. Hope I'm not going to be in trouble for posting this.I took this photo while waiting for the interviewers to arrive. Hope I'm not going to be in trouble for posting this.