BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

GDL Possibilities

Is it possible to call an object with CALL command for example and then allow to modify one of the parameters of this object ?
Example : using "Rotation.gsm" to ajust e57 points cloud and allow to supplant plan display

Is it possible to call an element like object and if it's possible are we able to call an element other than by its name in the library?
Example : ROOM_NUMBER

Is it possible with GDL to call a parameter of an element or even to concatenate or add the results.
Example : ROOM_NET_AREA

I'm a GDL beginner, do not hesitate to tell me the smallest step.
Christophe - FRANCE
Archicad Designer and Teacher
Archicad 15 to 27 FRA FULL

OS 11.6 Big Sur - MacBook Pro 2017 - 16Go RAM
"Quality is never an accident ; it's always the result of an intelligent effort" John Ruskin
8 REPLIES 8
runxel
Legend
Christophe wrote:
Is it possible to call an object with CALL command for example and then allow to modify one of the parameters of this object ?
Sure!
You do it like this
CALL yourmacro PARAMETERS paramInMacro = someValue
Christophe wrote:
Is it possible to call an object other than by its sum in the library?
??? I have no idea what you mean
Christophe wrote:
Is it possible with GDL to call a parameter of an element or even to concatenate or add the results.
Hopefully I understand you right, but you can do so in the Parameter script. Don't forget to save your parameter back afterwards!
Like:

foo = 1234  ! number

bar = "Test"  ! string

! for concat just use the plus operator
qux = bar + " " + str("%^~", foo)
! those flags are a bit pesky
! % -> obligatory
! ^ -> no thousand delimiter
! ~ -> no decimal fractions

! save the parameter back
parameters   myparam = qux