GDL
About building parametric objects with GDL.

Tutorial for PUT&GET?

Mats_Knutsson
Advisor
Hi,
I've been looking for examples but haven't found any except for the manual. Any basic youtube (or other) tutorials someone know?
/Mats
AC 25 SWE Full

HP Zbook Fury 15,6 G8. 32 GB RAM. Nvidia RTX A3000.
8 REPLIES 8
Lingwisyer
Guru
There is a tube sample object from GS somewhere that uses it. I attached it in this thread. Not sure where the original post is.

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660 
Goker Altuntas
Contributor
Here is an example that I have made to obtain a polygon with desired number of edges:

3D Script:

!below, n represents the number of the edges. eEach stands for the angle between the lines
!that start from the centre and goes to the corners.

aEach = 360/n 

!The loop is to store the coordinates of the corner points. The centre of the polygon is at
! 0,0. Each time the loop is executed, the "PUT" command stores another corner 

for aTurn = 0 to 360 step aEach 
PUT	dCentreToCorner*cos(aTurn),  dCentreToCorner*sin(aTurn)

next aTurn

!Now all the stored data is going to be used in a PRISM command. Rather any parameters, the coordinates
!of the points come from the data stored.

PRISM n+1, ZZYZX,
get (nsp)
text2 0, dy * 2, "Goker Malik Altuntas"
DGSketcher
Legend
Do a search for GDL Cookbook 3 by David Nicholson-Cole. His book is a fantastic tutorial from beginner to advanced and in the later chapters he explains just how important Put & Get are to efficient GDL programming. It is getting a bit old now but the basics are still relevant, I think because of that you can find it in the public domain and there is I believe a web based version. Alternatively you could pay back his generous contribution to teaching GDL and buy a copy.
Apple iMac Intel i9 / macOS Sonoma / AC27UKI (most recent builds.. if they work)
Mats_Knutsson
Advisor