BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Visualization
About built-in and 3rd party, classic and real-time rendering solutions, settings, workflows, etc.

How do a show a lighting scheme?

Anonymous
Not applicable
I am new to AC15 and what to show a client a lighting scheme is there any quick way to to this?
Jane
3 REPLIES 3
Barry Kelly
When you say "show a client" do you mean you want to sit down with the client while you are driving Archicad to show them the 3D model?
If so you just need to model the lights in 3D.
The problem will be finding objects to represent the lights you want.
There are some in the library but whether they are suitable or not will depend on how realistic you want them to look.

If you want to send the client a file for them to look through at their leasure then you will probably want to look at purchasing the BIMx add-on that will allow you to save a file of the 3D model that the client can walk through on their PC, Mac, iPhone or iPad.
Again you will still only have the library items that you can find unless you start modelling your own.

If you want to show the actual lighting effects (colour, intensity, shadows, etc.) then I think you will struggle.

Barry.
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi Barry,
I meant when I do a rendering I want to be able to show the lighting scheme how it will look at night for example. I am working with garden design therefore it is interesting for my clients if I can print out a photolike representation of an outdoor lighting scheme.
Barry Kelly
So you want accurate renderings.
It is possible but as I said I think you will find it tricky.