cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
License Delivery maintenance is expected to occur on Saturday, October 19, between 4 and 6 PM CEST. This may cause a short 60-minute outage in which license-related tasks: license key upload, download, update, SSA validation, access to the license pool may not function properly. We apologize for any inconvenience.
General discussions
Posts about job ads, news about competitions, events, learning resources, research, etc.

Help! I'm new to ArchiCAD

Anonymous
Not applicable
I am currently considering to train myself up with ArchiCAD, and i'm on here to see if anyone has any advice at all to give me regarding the software.

I am a 22 year old draftsman in the restaurant / bar / servery counters and kitchen industry, designing and engineering bespoke projects for our clients. I have seven years direct experience.

I have only ever worked with AutoCAD, drawing in .dwg format, and i have worked with the CNC tooling software Punch5.

I want to make the step forward using a software like ArchiCAD, to develop realistic computerized images of what the bars, restaurants and servery counters would look like so our clients have a better understanding of the interior design. So its not so much the problem with the engineering side of it, more just the interior look of it, but the engineering side would probably come in handy in the future.

I have included below a picture of small design of mine, which i found someone who 'i think' used software like ArchiCAD to create.

So basically, i would like to learn how to create images like the one below from AutoCAD .dwg format drawings.

I have a PowerBook G4 with MacOS 10.4.8 and will probably upgrade to a Intel MacBook Pro as soon as they decide to throw blu-ray on it!

Any Information would be much appreciated.

Many Thanks
Daniel

Draft01.jpg
3 REPLIES 3
Dwight
Newcomer