BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Licensing
About all sorts of licenses, their management, Graphisoft ID, Graphisoft Store, License Manager Tool, etc.

placing walls

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi

I am very new to Archicad. This has got to be an easy question but I just can't find the answer anywhere yet.

How do you place a wall (or other object) a set distance from some point without having to drag it there? For instance how would one place a wall parallel to and 1.86 metres, say, from an existing wall? Or how would one create the shape of a room using the keyboard alone for dimensioning purposes? I am trying to place the walls on a project based on the plans and dimensions of the existing building.

Any one care to answer this one for me?

Many thanks, and apologies for my ignorance.
9 REPLIES 9
Thomas Holm
Booster
This is basic. You need basic training. Archicad is a professional CAD tool. You'll save loads of time=money by purchasing some professional training. Not counting that, there are good help files, and you can search Graphisoft's site for various demos and instruction movies.

Edited:

Sorry for my tone above. I didn't realise you were posting this in the student forum. Still, I think you should look for some basic training before you start asking. The demo movies on GS's site are quite good.
AC4.1-AC26SWE; MacOS13.5.1; MP5,1+MBP16,1
Eduardo Rolon
Thomas, Just so that he does not feel bad,

For a beginner it is easier to draw the wall (or any object) and then drag it to its place.

For the other question start the wall press shift to lock the direction and hit "R" then type the distance if the angle is is not orthogonal just click to start move the mouse in the direction you want to go type the distance (or press "D") and then tab to the angle (or type "A"), press return and keep going provided you have selected the continuos wall option.
Eduardo Rolón AIA NCARB