Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Help with *.dwg Line thickness in Archicad

Anonymous
Not applicable
I imported a *.dwg file of a OS map. The lines are too thick to even read the drawing. (see pic)
What am I doing wrong?

autocad siteplan.jpg
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable
Have you looked at your pen settings? It looks like the ACAD pens are mapping to some hugely fat pens that you must have in your setup, but never actually use.

You can see things OK (temporarily) by switching to hairlines, but the real solution will be to review your pen table and DWG import settings.

It can't be a scale problem as you are viewing the drawing at 1:100 which is presumably much larger than the intended scale for a site plan.
Anonymous
Not applicable
First of all I am new to Archicad so excuse me if I seem a bit slow.
My solution was too open the *.dwg in Microstation and Scale it by 1000.
Now it looks fine, but i think the scaling is wrong. I am amazed that there is no Scale tool in Archicad . Let s say you have a 40 lines in a drawing and you want to scale them all by 45% - what do you do? In Mircostation or AutoCad you just scale them....

How would you deal with importing a DWG file? How do you know the Scale is correct and if it needs correcting how do you do that?

Thanks again
Anonymous
Not applicable
On importing DWG files, the scale is set in the window of the Translator set-up, under the "Settings in selected translator". The "Drawing Units" settings give you the option of opening with the setting of 1 DXF/DWG unit to the unit you specify.