Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

How does ArchiCAD TeamWork work?

Christiaan
Participant
Hi, I'm a VectorWorks Architect user, and I've just been having a discussion about adding a collaboration system like ArchiCAD TeamWork to VectorWorks. i.e. I've put it on the wishlist.

I'm interested in how people find the system. Does it work well? Or are you constantly running into problems or barriers?

Also, how does it actually work? Is ArchiCAD a database driven program? Presumably the TeamWork system could not be implemented using a normal file based system?
10 REPLIES 10
TomWaltz
Participant
Teamwork allows you to sign out parts of the project, usually by some combination of floors, layers, and a windowed area (called a Marquee).

It also allows you to sign out views of the model such as elevations, sections, details, and sheets.

I'll be the first to say that it's a little weird, but I've found it to work reliably for projects up to 4 or 5 people without much problem. More than that requires a little more planning or perhaps dividing the project file so there are not as many people in any one file. We've probably done about 60 teamwork projects going back to Archicad 8.

It does require a change in your thinking though, since rarely can a person take an entire printed sheet to work on since so much of the project is model-based. That's true of Archicad in general, though, not just Teamwork.

I'm not sure what you mean "using a normal file based system"
Tom Waltz
Christiaan
Participant
TomWaltz wrote:
I'll be the first to say that it's a little weird
Wierd as in different from the expected or wierd as in difficult to comprehend?
TomWaltz wrote: