Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Importing a site plan

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi all.
I'm completely new to Archicad. I've watched some basic guides and now want to learn by starting a new project. But my first hurdle is trying to bring a PDF site plan into Archicad.
I think I would like to trace a site plan for the project of of this PDF.
So far I was able to bring the PDF in via "external content/place external drawing".......but I don't know how to then scale it up (scale should be 1:1250)
I tried to go another route by scaling it up in Autocad first....but then I could n't figure out how to bring this into Archicad.
Can anyone show me the best way to approach this?
12 REPLIES 12
David Maudlin
Rockstar
Thomas wrote:
If you need to change it's proportions (that's often needed if it is originally scanned) you will have to convert the PDF to JPG or TIFF.
I should add that to make a PDF transparent, which I sometimes need, the only way I've found is to convert it to TIFF (if it's a bit-mapped image) or DWG (if it's a digital vectorial line drawing originally).
The Figure Tool can do both of these. Karl posted a good comparison of the Figure and Drawing Tools here:
Difference between Drawing and Figure Tools

David
David Maudlin / Architect
www.davidmaudlin.com
Digital Architecture
AC27 USA • iMac 27" 4.0GHz Quad-core i7 OSX11 | 24 gb ram • MacBook Pro M3 Pro | 36 gb ram OSX14
Thomas Holm
Booster
David wrote:
The Figure Tool can do both of these. Karl posted a good comparison of the Figure and Drawing Tools here:
Difference between Drawing and Figure Tools
David
Thanks David, I almost forgot this. Karl's comparison is quite comprehensive. Of course, if I drag-in a TIFF it's automatically regarded as a Figure by Archicad, that's why I can change its background transparency.