Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Newbie question on roofs

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi All,

I am new to ArchiCAD...convert from AutoCAD.
Is there an easy way to create the following type of roof?

I have a 'square' building and wanting to place a roof which has an overhang to all four sides (equal in length). The roof is monopitch. Here's the thing. The soffit thickness needs to decrease in size from 190mm at outside wall to 90mm at the fascia.

Does anyone have any suggestions as I've tried a few things and all seem to be really crappy and not very logical.

Thanking u....
18 REPLIES 18
Djordje
Ace
Michael wrote:
I am new to ArchiCAD...convert from AutoCAD. Is there an easy way to create the following type of roof?

I have a 'square' building and wanting to place a roof which has an overhang to all four sides (equal in length). The roof is monopitch. Here's the thing. The soffit thickness needs to decrease in size from 190mm at outside wall to 90mm at the fascia.

Does anyone have any suggestions as I've tried a few things and all seem to be really crappy and not very logical.
If I understood you properly, you need to model it with a rectangular mesh 90mm thick. Punch a hole in it the shape of the walls, and raise the outline of the hole 100mm.

I probably missed the point completely, therefore it would be good if you posted a screen shot/3D view of your roof. We're visual people 😉
Djordje

ArchiCAD since 4.55 ... 1995
HP Omen
Anonymous
Not applicable
Visual creatures indeed...

Attached is a 30 second basic dwg (elevation) of what I want to create. The roof lines represent the outline including linings for the roof with the soffits tapering off to the fascia boards.

Hopefully a little clearer now...

Thanks Djordje
Basic.JPG