Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

this has to be the toughest program to learn alone

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi i'm a student and about to give up on archicad. How are people supposed to learn this program. There's no decent tutorials except the pre-programmed soul less and useless ones that ship with graphisoft, (sound like steven hawkins narrates them). i'm at one of the best architectural schools in London,
and nobody knows how to use this program, students or lecturers. There is no classes anywhere,no books anywhere, It a shame iv always tried to promote this program whilst everyone else championed Rhino, Vectorworks or Microstation. I got Vectorworks a couple of days ago and in one night i know more about that program than months toying with archicad and i'm booked on a full day Vectorworks course( 80% student discount!) recommended by VW.
Truthfully feel iv wasted a lot of time on this un- user friendly program.
23 REPLIES 23
furtonb
Advisor
I think it's really rare that people teach the programs in the design/engineering/structural context that is otherwise taught at universities. In the case of the GS materials, they barely touch "mundane" examples, e.g. modelling the different materials in a thermal envelope. You could create a separate playlist just for this issue, the flat roof sloping, the fire/water related material changes, etc. Or showing a conceptual workflow from a large scale programmatic/massing stage to a scale of 1:100 (... people still think in paper scale to determine the granularity... which LOD is that exactly?:)). It's really hard to put all the necessary pieces together from the available materials.