Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Project data & BIM
About BIM-based management of attributes, schedules, templates, favorites, hotlinks, projects in general, quality assurance, etc.

Multi PLN Attributes is Hotlinking an answer

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi,
I know there are many conversations on here covering dealing with attributes in projects that require multiple pln files due to their size.
I have done a search and read much, and been overwhelmed by the number of posts, but so far not found one that suggests my question (although I am sure there must be one here somewhere).

I have been using Archicad since about 1990, and usually manage to put the full project in one PLN (which is ultimately the best way to work), and on the rare occasion when I have to have multiple PLN's, I have carefully only brought them together for the needs of the site information without issue.

But, some projects are now becoming increasingly complex and a lot larger, but managing attributes using the Attribute Manager is becoming a major task, and is scuppered by a team member who goes maverick.

So, I was wondering, if we setup the project to have:

An Attribute PLN
This would be the base file when needing new layers, line types, fills, composites etc.
When a new item is created and example of that item or text on the new layer is added to the attribute storey.

Building A PLN (and Building B PLN etc) plus a Site PLN (that has the attribute PLN and Building PLNs hot linked in)
A file for each building that has the attribute PLN hot linked in to an attribute storey.
When new layers etc are required they are added to the above Attribute PLN, and then updated in this file.