Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.

Complete Newbie

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello guys, and girls of course, I am completely new to this software. However, I need to admin it's better than what I've been used to ever before. I was trying to find some tutorial for interior desings but with no success. Therefore I would like to ask for a little help.

I have all my drawings ready, but need some details to be added. Is there any easy way how to put materials (tiles) to a specifically outlined surface (part of a wall)? When I use some material it runs all over the wall, through multiple rooms. And also, is there any chance to easily create new materials (tiles, floors) from existing pictures (ex. jpegs).

And finally a last question, is there any way to turn on automatical dimensioning for the 2D drawings? I would like to export or print out an apartment plan with exact dimensions which I could provide to a building company.

Thank you and sorry for such a dumb topic
7 REPLIES 7
David Maudlin
Virtuoso
xman66 wrote:
Is there any easy way how to put materials (tiles) to a specifically outlined surface (part of a wall)? When I use some material it runs all over the wall, through multiple rooms. And also, is there any chance to easily create new materials (tiles, floors) from existing pictures (ex. jpegs).
You cannot place a material on part of a wall, you should create another wall that is only the extent of the material and assign your material (tiles) to that wall. You can then use the Align 3D Texture function to place the starting point for the tile texture.

One way to create a new texture is to duplicate an existing material that is similar to your new material, give it a new name, then assign your jpeg as the texture for your material. Depending on the rendering engine you are using (Internal or Lightworks), how you assign this texture in the Materials dialog box differs.