BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

Terramodel and AutoCad shx files imported into ArchiCAD

Anonymous
Not applicable
I am a Land Surveyor working with Terramodel software. We prepare DWG style files of topographic surveys and plats. One architect we work with uses ArchiCAD and cannot properly read our files. The fonts get messed up as he is unable to import the two critical shx files that define "symbol" font and "tmodel". Can anyone help explain how to properly import the shx files with a dwg file into ArchiCAD and have it substitute the correct fonts?
4 REPLIES 4
Djordje
Ace
Tom wrote:
I am a Land Surveyor working with Terramodel software. We prepare DWG style files of topographic surveys and plats. One architect we work with uses ArchiCAD and cannot properly read our files. The fonts get messed up as he is unable to import the two critical shx files that define "symbol" font and "tmodel". Can anyone help explain how to properly import the shx files with a dwg file into ArchiCAD and have it substitute the correct fonts?
When you send your file to the architect, send him the shx fonts too. If they have their TTF counterparts, so much the better. Archicad uses system fonts, and if it can find the shx, all should be well.

In AutoCAD, there is a process called eTransmit, that packs the drawing, all relevant shx and shp files, and any XRefs and blocks. It would be a best practice to do THAT when sending the DWG out to anyone.

Don't ever assume that other people's computers have all the bits and pieces that you do They usually don't.
Djordje

ArchiCAD since 4.55 ... 1995
HP Omen
Thomas Holm
Booster