BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Trimming Slanted Beams

hkrna
Enthusiast
Anybody has an idea how to trim two identical size beams, a horizontal and a slanted properly? No matter what I try the end cut plain remains vertical, so a small corner of the slanted beam sticks out. (the beams do not show continuous) I am no novice in AC, still I cant figure. Is it possible at all? Or I shall wait for the Morph tool?
Please see the image. I simply wish the two beams do what the thick black lines show.
Thanks.
ArchiCAD since 4.5

Windows 10
6 REPLIES 6
David Maudlin
Virtuoso
hkrna:

One solution is to use a Slab (or other element with a flat top surface) to SEO the notch on the bottom of the sloped beam, then put the Operator on a hidden layer.

David
David Maudlin / Architect
www.davidmaudlin.com
Digital Architecture
AC27 USA • iMac 27" 4.0GHz Quad-core i7 OSX11 | 24 gb ram • MacBook Pro M3 Pro | 36 gb ram OSX14
Erika Epstein
Booster
David wrote:
hkrna:

One solution is to use a Slab (or other element with a flat top surface)
or the roof tool, then the horizontal and sloped sections will meet correctly with no SEO required.
Erika
Architect, Consultant
MacBook Pro Retina, 15-inch Yosemite 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Mac OSX 10.11.1
AC5-18
Onuma System

"Implementing Successful Building Information Modeling"
hkrna
Enthusiast