Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.

What to do with your left hand... A Very Strange Device

Anonymous
Not applicable
This I got to share!

I have been using a Wacom pen for 4 years now, instead of a mouse (the pen is, after all, mightier than the mouse...)

This I teach at architecture classes at the university. Students groan at the beginning, but once they get used to the pen (about 1 or two sessions) they never look back.

Now I had this long time problem: What to do with my left hand!
As I tend to work very fast, and 75% of my time at the computer is spend with AC, I had to use keyboard shortcuts.
I hate thos ctrlsomething shortcut. You get a dislocated wrist sooner or later. AC9 lets you use single key shortcuts (I used Fkeys on earlier versions) but still they are not easy to find. Most of the time you have to look at the keyboard, with obvious loss of time.

So I have been searching from some time for a keyboard substitute. What I found in the net (forget computer shops) was not adequate.

This xmas I was looking for some Ps2 games for my kid, and stumbled on something quite unique. This comes into the category of A Very Strange Device.

Microsoft produced a SideWinder companion in the late 90s, called Sidewinder Strategic Commander. This was obviously designed for games, of the complex sort, those that have a lot of keyboard shortcuts.

But wait! If it works for the fast paced games enviroment, could it also work for ArchiCAD?

I bought it straight away (some 40€, a bargain), rushed to my office, and began right away fiddling with it.

After unpacking, this Very Strange Device presented itself as a heavy object, perfectly fit for your (not so ) idle left hand.