cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
2024 Technology Preview Program

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

Advice on Detailing

unknown
Newcomer

Hello,

I am new to Archicad and am after some advice on how best to model this building entrance detail (see image 1).

I have tried a couple of different ways without success:

1. Morph Tool - After watching some videos on how to use this I have made several attempts to use this tool however the interior box that I am trying to cut out isn't cutting out of the shape (image 2). I have tried playing around with the settings but am not sure what is going wrong/what I have done wrong.

2. Solid Element Operations - I have tried using this but its not making any difference to the shape - I don't think I am using it right.

3. Importing it - I can easily model it up in Rhino and have tried importing it over both via the file<open< and file<interoperability<merge but both ways only produce views which are 3D and the shape does not show in plan or elevation view.

Thanks 🙂

Operating system used: Mac Intel-based ?

2 REPLIES 2
Barry Kelly

There would be many ways to do this.

You could place a 1000mm thick wall and place as series of openings, controlling the depth of each one.

Place the door in that wall also and adjust the reveal depth or place a separate (thin) wall inside the opening and place the door in that.

Or model the outer skin as a thin wall that zig-zags into to door wall.

Place higher walls across these zig-zags to form the lintels.

Model the internal leaf separately.

The door is in a double skin wall as normal.

You could use the polygon wall geometry method (must be 'Basic' wall structure to do this, not composite or complex profile).