Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
License outage
Dear Customers, We are facing with an outage in our services in Azure. You may experience issues with the Azure-based functions, like licensing, BIMcloud SaaS, Learn Portal. We are working hard on this issue to make it fixed as soon as possible. Thank you for your patience.
Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

Can this object be a Wall ?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi everyone,

I'm a junior developper that just started in this company, i have no knowledge of archicad or gdl

So the company uses this custom object in archicad as if it was a wall, except (my boss says) because of how the wall is on the inside we can't make it as a "wall" or "composite wall" object, all we can do is make it as an "object" object.

The thing is, it looks like a wall, behaves like a wall but because it's an object and not a wall, I can't use the c++ api functions on it... (ACAPI_​Element_​GetRelations() for example, in order to get connected walls...)

So the question is, judging by the 2d section below, can you tell me if there is some way i can make this object into a wall ? maybe composite Wall or curtain wall ?
Or on the other hand, is there a list of rules my object needs to follow in order to be able to use the wall functions on it ?

My boss says it is the inside wooden panels (that are perpendicular to the wall itself) that prevent the object from being a wall.

coding the wall functions again for the object will take a tremendous amount of time and effort, and any evolution in the object will imply many code changes and introduce bugs so please help me find another way
4 REPLIES 4
Lingwisyer
Guru
I am assuming that that is not a section of a wall fragment by the plan view of it.