Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Cityscape creation

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi folks, im still new to ArchiCAD and still getting to grips with its clumsy interface so bear with me.....basically i want to create my own city and then generate fly-throughs - how would you go about this?
My laptop is quite high spec but struggles to view a single building once its 'painted and furnished' so the majority of the buildings will simply be hollow shells to avoid crashes.
Is it a case of creating the landscape mesh, creating buildings one by one (most tower blocks would be copied and slightly altered) then just pasting it all into one massive drawing? or should i split the city up into districts and just do fly throughs of those and stitch em all together in Premiere afterwards?....
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello Vitalis

It does exist entire buildings as "ArchiCAD objects".

You can find them here :
1— ArchiCADO
2—Archi Media
3—Cate
4—CIA
5—Winhard

HTH
Anonymous
Not applicable
Useful links thankyou but im keen to learn the process by which Archicad veterans would tackle this project...
Anonymous
Not applicable
Vitalis-

I work for a development compnay creating a new town here in the US. I do exactly what you are asking to do. Here is how I do it.

Create each building w/ as much detail as you need. Soime of my buildings are quite detailed, othres not.

I create module files and place them in my drawing

Streets and sidewalks are walls set to desired thickness. Landscape is slabs/trees are trees.

I have my doubts if a laptop is powerful enough to generate a capable fly-through, or even a decent panorama, but I may be wrong.

You may find it easier to do "block" buildings w/ or w/out detailed roof elements. The complexity of the model can bog any computer down. My Mac G5 has taken everything I can throw at it so far.
Anonymous
Not applicable