cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
2024 Technology Preview Program

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.
SOLVED!

Extend built-in tool options.

jc4d
Expert

Hello,

 

Is it possible to add more options to a built-in tool?

Let me explain, for example I would like to add couple more profiles options to the Beam tool, but no idea if that is even possible.

jc4d_0-1684748126869.png

 

Juan

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution

For example...

BarryKelly_0-1684765391085.png

 

And now the profile is stretchy in section/3D.

 

BarryKelly_2-1684765437227.png

 

Barry.

 

 

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
i7-10700 @ 2.9Ghz, 32GB ram, GeForce RTX 2060 (6GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
runxel
Legend

For everything else there is literally the third button...

Just make a new profile?!

Lucas Becker | AC 27 on Mac | Author of Runxel's Archicad Wiki | Editor at SelfGDL | Developer of the GDL plugin for Sublime Text | My List of AC shortcomings & bugs | I Will Piledrive You If You Mention AI Again |

«Furthermore, I consider that Carth... yearly releases must be destroyed»
Barry Kelly
Moderator

That third button is just a symbolic icon.

The profile can be what ever shape you have created in the Profile Manager.

 

Barry.

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
i7-10700 @ 2.9Ghz, 32GB ram, GeForce RTX 2060 (6GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
jc4d
Expert

Thank you both, yes you are right.

I was thinking that if you wanna make likehaving a double profile and have control over some parameters.

Something like this, where both objects are the same profile, not sure if I'm explaining myself properly 😅

jc4d_0-1684756963188.png

 

Juan

You can create a single profile with two separate fills - they don't have to be joined.

You can also add modifiers to allow you to stretch H1, H2, Hgap, W1, W2 and even the wall offset (although for that it is easier to just place the beam at the offset you want).

I am assuming the profile is the end of those beams/walls.

 

Research modifiers in complex profiles.

 

Barry.

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
i7-10700 @ 2.9Ghz, 32GB ram, GeForce RTX 2060 (6GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Solution

For example...

BarryKelly_0-1684765391085.png

 

And now the profile is stretchy in section/3D.

 

BarryKelly_2-1684765437227.png

 

Barry.

 

 

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
i7-10700 @ 2.9Ghz, 32GB ram, GeForce RTX 2060 (6GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11