Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Largest project acchived in BIM.

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello everyone. AC, Revit, VW, AP users. I work in construction company. Right now we came across big (1.2 mil sqft) hospital project, and together with architects looking for best BIM software that will be able to run this project. Right now we are testing Revit (mostly because of architect) but when project goes into 250 kilo sqft hardware starts to say NONO (experience from other projects). It's a big problem. Hardware is not the problem (state of the art for today standards). Any experiences in that area?
36 REPLIES 36
Djordje
Virtuoso
Take a look at Eureka Towers, by Fender Katsalidis, in Australia. I would think that it is a lot bigger than your project. There used to be an extensive article on the Graphisoft site.

Explore IFC export of Revit, and its import into Archicad. You will need it.
Djordje

ArchiCAD since 4.55 ... 1995
HP Omen
TomWaltz
Participant
I think the largest I have worked on myself is about 120,000 SF.

edited Nov 5, 2007: OK, bump that up a bit.... my current firm averages 500,000 SF or so....
Tom Waltz
Dwight
Newcomer
Think of me as a schludense, but:

Who cares how many square feet the project is? That is not what is going to make it "big" or difficult from a computer standpoint. How much building detail will there be? Especially in 3D? Making the machine haul everything around all the time is what bogs a system down.