Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Newbie question on roofs

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi All,

I am new to ArchiCAD...convert from AutoCAD.
Is there an easy way to create the following type of roof?

I have a 'square' building and wanting to place a roof which has an overhang to all four sides (equal in length). The roof is monopitch. Here's the thing. The soffit thickness needs to decrease in size from 190mm at outside wall to 90mm at the fascia.

Does anyone have any suggestions as I've tried a few things and all seem to be really crappy and not very logical.

Thanking u....
18 REPLIES 18
David Collins
Advocate
Here's an ArchiForma solution, just for fun. The soffit can be easily modeled using the "ruled surface" tool, basically giving you a truncated pyramid, and then rotated into position under a normal roof slab.

If you plan to do this sort of thing a lot a parametric scripted GDL object using RULED might be another way to go.
cantedsoffit.jpg
David Collins

Win10 64bit Intel i7 6700 3.40 Ghz, 32 Gb RAM, GeForce RTX 3070
AC 27.0 (4001 INT FULL)
Djordje
Ace
David wrote:
Here's an ArchiForma solution, just for fun. The soffit can be easily modeled using the "ruled surface" tool, basically giving you a truncated pyramid, and then rotated into position under a normal roof slab.

If you plan to do this sort of thing a lot a parametric scripted GDL object using RULED might be another way to go.
Very good! Are the egdes of the "hole" by the walls vertical?

Congrats for 5000th message!

Another way of doing this is with GDL Toolbox - as it can follow the non-horizontal path, as will ArchiForma 2.0 I hear.
Djordje

ArchiCAD since 4.55 ... 1995
HP Omen
Anonymous
Not applicable
Cheers for that David, Will look into ArchiForma