Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

measuring area quick and easy

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi,

Is there any way to measure area quick and easy? There is the measure tool that will help me with distances, but how about areas? I don't want to check coordinates and count, and I'd rather not use zones either.

I'm (obviously I guess) an absolute beginner, so please excuse me for posting really really basic questions.

(I think this is a working in ArchiCAD/drafting kind of question, but please refer me to another forum if I'm in the wrong place. I'll probably have a lot more questions like this one so you might get annoyed if i keep posting them where they don't belong. )
13 REPLIES 13
Anonymous
Not applicable
Lisa

Not sure if this is the easiest way but this is how I would do it....

Select the fill tool. Go into the selection settings. Under general settings switch on the show area text button.

Then either draw around the profile of the room you're measuring or, if there is a good contiguous boundary, select it using the magic wand (while the fill toll is selected) tool. Then just click to drop the area text where you want it.

Hope this is what you were after
Anonymous
Not applicable
Thank you Alan, that works!

...but since I'm a really lazy person I still wonder... is there anyway to do it without creating an object? I'd just like to be able to click the four or six or eleven corners of a room or a slab or whatever and find out how big it is. (Like with the inquiry-tool in autocad. Sorry for bringing that up, hope i don't offend any of you hardcore ArchiCad people )

Otherwise I'll just use Alans method, which is fine!
Dwight
Newcomer
Let's see.