Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

Custom GDL Object Help

Anonymous
Not applicable
I am trying to create a custom toe kick for a cabinet that is parametrically linked to the cabinet.

The cabinet is a custom cabinet also created in GDL and I am having issues with the points that I have defined are not creating the correct object.

The first photo is the creation of the Toe Kick at the height location and look I want on a 2' wide cabinet base. I wrote the coordinates of the prism in a way that would translate parametrically but it does not.

The second photo is what happens when the A dimension is stretched to 3'

The third photo is the piece of code for this particular object

I am relatively new to GDL and any help with writing this piece of the code would be appreciated.
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable
Image 2
Anonymous
Not applicable
Image 3
Code.PNG
David Maudlin
Virtuoso
dtp81390:

I do not understand the logic of your code, but can see that the "y" argument in the status=3000 parts does nothing. Try changing this argument to any number, including zero, and the shape of the Prism_ remains the same. I would suggest using the status=4000 code instead; it will just take some trigonometry to calculate the center point and angle. It has been quite a while since I tried using the status=3000, but my recollection is that it never gave me the results I wanted, maybe this is the problem; I have used the status=4000 successfully.

You should add a Signature to your Profile (click the Profile button near the top of this page) with your ArchiCAD version and operating system (see mine for an example) for more accurate help in this forum.

David
David Maudlin / Architect
www.davidmaudlin.com
Digital Architecture
AC27 USA • iMac 27" 4.0GHz Quad-core i7 OSX11 | 24 gb ram • MacBook Pro M3 Pro | 36 gb ram OSX14
Anonymous
Not applicable