GDL
About building parametric objects with GDL.

Master Info Control Object

MichaelIserief
Contributor

I was hoping to create an object that could be used to control settings of other objects. (e.g set the Local Government Area which would update parameters across the title block, retaining wall matrix and driveway design matrix objects). I could have this happen with the MVO settings, however this poses a risk of editing the wrong MVO option set or redefining a view with the incorrect information. 

Is there another way of achieving this else besides the MVO that I might be missing here? 

13 REPLIES 13
Lingwisyer
Guru

Other than MVO, you could use the text I/O, but this will only refresh on object update.

https://gdl.Graphisoft.com/tips-and-tricks/how-to-read-and-write-text-files

Open your master object, make your changes, text out, refresh / reload all relevant objects.

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660 

I use MVO settings that read from a library master object so that I can have default settings for the project that just takes typing in the name of the master settings into my MVO settings so that they all read from the same place. It's also allows me to generate multiple options with exteriors that the labels change automatically with based on which default parameter I'm specifying the MVO to read to

A simple approach if you don't want to go down a database or MVO route, could be to have layer options within the objects themselves and you go into the object and change the Local Authority in settings which controls the layer view of the object and then they will display the different alternatives that you want to see.

Nathan Hildebrandt fraia
Director | Skewed
AC6 - AC27 | WIN 11 | i9-10900K, 3.7Ghz | 32GB Ram | NVIDIA GeForce RTX
DGSketcher
Legend