BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Slab/Mesh Clerestory Window problem!

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi there,
I'm still new to Archicad and I have been attempting to create come Clerestory windows in the roof of my new building. The building has a flat roof and as I haven't explored the roof tool and in the brief time that I did I couldn'f find a flat roof type I am just using a mixture of slabs and mesh's for my roofs so far.
Now I have a problem.
See image 1 -

With seeing that you can see that I have a raised wall with the windows in place and a sloping mesh coming from that wall to intersect with the roof.
I have two questions, is there a way to basically "cut out the inside" of the mesh so that it doesn't make the sides disappear?
And two, am I, as I suspect going about this in a stupid way and is there a far simpler/more effective way of creating flat/sloped roofs with Clerestory windows in them!?

Thanks for your time.
6 REPLIES 6
Erich
Contributor
First, to cut out the center of your mesh (a slab is similar):
1 - Draw mesh
2 - With both the mesh selected and mesh tool active draw the outline of your desired "hole"
3 - hit return

However, if I were trying to model this, I would use the roof tool set to a slope of around 1/4" to 1'=0" (flat roofs are not flat). Depending on your drainage situation you would likely use several different roof sections set with different fall lines to achieve the proper result. If you select one roof section and then hold the cursor over the edge of an adjacent section you will see a black scissor cursor, click on the roof edge and it will extend or trim and necessary to match the selected roof.

HTH
Erich

AC 19 6006 & AC 20
Mac OS 10.11.5
15" Retina MacBook Pro 2.6
27" iMac Retina 5K
Dwight
Newcomer
DO NOT USE MESH FOR THIS.