Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

GDL
About building parametric objects with GDL.
SOLVED!

GDL - Combining Strings and and Text Array

Lingwisyer
Guru

Hi all,

Is there someway to combine the following? sg_customName[i][2] is a text array.

name = STR ("%2.0", i) + " " + sg_customName[i][2]

I have used the custom name by itself for some options and i string for others, but I would like to add the option to prefix the custom name.

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win11 | i9 10850K | 64GB | RX6600 Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Peter Baksa
Graphisoft
Graphisoft

The menu is not new, but it has to be added manually through Work Environment > Menus > All menus in alphabetical order.

In the linked object's master script this is suspicious:

sg_customName_temp[i][2]  = 0

This is clearly not a string, and gets written back to sg_customName.

Péter Baksa
Software Engineer, Library as a Platform
Graphisoft SE, Budapest

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
runxel
Legend

I don't get it. Are you doing this in a loop with 'i' being the counter?

Can't see why it shouldn't work?!

Lucas Becker | AC 27 on Mac | Author of Runxel's Archicad Wiki | Editor at SelfGDL | Developer of the GDL plugin for Sublime Text | My List of AC shortcomings & bugs | I Will Piledrive You If You Mention AI Again |

POSIWID – The Purpose Of a System Is What It Does /// «Furthermore, I consider that Carth... yearly releases must be destroyed»
DGSketcher
Legend

I have come across situations like that which look correct but GDL won't handle the parts. In such situations I would break that line into some local variables and then add the variables together. It may be you only need to separate out the STR function.