I am not sure how the software licenses work as I don't use them, but as far as I know there is nothing silent about working in demo mode.
You should always be prompted with this if there is no license.
You have to agree to run in demo mode as far as I know.
But once in demo mode that is it - no way to save.
If it started properly (with a license) but then you lose the license, re-establishing the license should allow you to save again.
So I am not sure what happened in your case, but if it is in demo mode then you have lost what you have done.
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 25
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 10