Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.

slow sections and 3d process....urgent

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi, I'm a newbie (hug me!) to the AC universe

but right after a mate of mine installed me the AC10 in my Mac, and thaught me the ropes with a project of his own( previously made), we noticed that when we tried to make a section ( I am portuguese so i don't know how this term is said exactly, but it is a vertical slice, a facade....) or a 3d view of the plants a window would pop up saying that it would take 25mins... the first try and then 18 mins... the second... I would like some help in dealing with this issue!

here are the specs wich can elucidate you:
PowerBook G4 15" - 1.67Ghz ; 1GB RAM; 80GB Hard-Drive - 50Gig already full:ATI 9700 128mb dedicated: did i mention i got norton for mac?

waiting for advice
Thanks
12 REPLIES 12
TomWaltz
Participant
Plants are notorious for slowing a machine.... since you are on a G4, you're going to be running a bit slower to begin with.... I'm afraid you might have the options of either (A) using simpler 3D plants or (B) buying faster hardware.
Tom Waltz
Anonymous
Not applicable
Bit of a time leap but a similar problem.

I am working on a simple apartment block, U shape plan layout, so the courtyard elevations are also the sections to the accommodation wings.
Just 3/4 stories plus u/g car park.

The plans fly in, no prob. 3D is great with Open GL but the Elevs and Sections just kill it. So bad in fact that I am now investigating Revit and Spirit as A10 is commercially unusable.

Make one change on a Sec/Elev drawing and it regenerates (although set for manual, not auto). It takes from 8 mins to 45mins, using 100% of the PC resources to complete and hand control back to the user.

This is patently absurd.