Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.

Dialog box does not list files alphabetically???

Chris Hough
Booster
I have been putting up with this for some years now and today I am just over it. (I've been using Archicad for +20 years on Mac, though obviously this problem does not go THAT far back...). Pardon the snark in this post but I'm just super frustrated with several things going on and this is the proverbial straw.

I'm sure the answer will be that A) there is some obscure dialog box that is buried in the program somewhere that will fix the problem or B) it has to do with the way the Mac OS handles the files listing and it "can't be fixed" by Graphisoft. But here goes:

We have a very extensive list of texture files that we often use regularly to look at various exterior materials on the models with our clients. Why oh why then does the dialog box in the Surfaces- Texture- Browse not display these files in alphabetical listing?? Do you realize how hard it is to look through a randomly ordered list of files?

Any explanation for this at all?
Owner, Heritage Design Studio
AC 4.5-26
Maco OS Monterey | 2.4 Ghz i9 | 32Gb | AMD RX 6800 XT
9 REPLIES 9
Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin
I am not on Mac so I will be able to check it, but could you post a screenshot of how that Dialog looks?
Others may have some ideas.
Loving Archicad since 1995 - Find Archicad Tips at x.com/laszlonagy
AMD Ryzen9 5900X CPU, 64 GB RAM 3600 MHz, Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, 500 GB NVMe SSD
2x28" (2560x1440), Windows 10 PRO ENG, Ac20-Ac27
Lingwisyer
Guru
Chris wrote:
Surfaces- Texture- Browse

As in changing the image in the surface editor? Looks to be a Mac thing as it is in alphabetical order for me on Win10.

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660 
Chris Hough
Booster
Screen shot of the dialog box below.