cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
2024 Technology Preview Program

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Wishes
Post your wishes about Graphisoft products: Archicad, BIMx, BIMcloud, and DDScad.

Cmd (mac) / Alt (pc) swap preference with Ctrl . . ?

__archiben
Booster
as time goes on and the thought of getting a job starts creeping into my mind, i've been giving a lot of thought to what it would mean for me, a long-time mac archiCAD user, to come face to face with a windows environment.

besides the panic that would set in, i think perhaps the biggest thing that would upset my rhythmn and efficiency is the keyboard shortcut issue. now - i've been travelling around australasia for over three months and using 100% PC internet cafes along the way. without a shadow of a doubt i can say that the use of the 'Ctrl' modifier key is the most ridiculus thing i've come to terms with on a PC. my hands can do tricks i never previously thought possible just copying and pasting. but a whole range of keyboard commands?

although not an important wish by any means, is it too hard to swap some of the keyboard mapping at a low level within a program, controlled as a part of the WE scheme? is it technically possible? then everything that needs a Ctrl modifier on a PC i could swap with Alt, for example, and save myself the pain of wrist strain and RSI?

i would also love to hear experiences of people who use both on a (almost) daily basis . . . matthew?

cheers
~/archiben
b e n f r o s t
b f [a t ] p l a n b a r c h i t e c t u r e [d o t] n z
archicad | sketchup! | coffeecup
12 REPLIES 12
Anonymous
Not applicable
imagine the automobile was invented now, by computer ppl.

The steering weel would probably be a mouse, or with any luck a joystick.