Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

Very Large Empty File (65MB)

astonyap
Participant

Hi all, 

I have a file size that was saved to 200mb and i found that it was unusually large.

I decided to delete everything in the file and save a copy of it, and it came up to be over 60mb

Could anyone help me with understanding why my empty file is so big? and how can i reduce this issue?

If anyone would like to view the file, i have uploaded it to my gdrive: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1WJqkciwrde0EDGGDvhHeaIdEx6xKP0Gh/view?usp=sharing 

Cheers,

Aston

5 REPLIES 5
Lingwisyer
Guru

Check your Embedded Library. That is the main culprit for inflated files with nothing built.

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660 

@Lingwisyer wrote:

Check your Embedded Library. That is the main culprit for inflated files with nothing built.

I actually downloaded the file and looked at that - it is empty.

I also purged all unused attributes, deleted all but storey 0, deleted views, favourites, layouts and masters, properties and classifications but still the file was over 55MB.

Opening with 'Open & Repair' option said it deleted some problems but still the file is 52MB.

I am at a loss as to what else there can be.

Barry.

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Podolsky
Ace

I had similar problems - for example when creating a template file. Looks like Archicad keeps some data even after all model elements were deleted.