Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Hesitant - or, working with others - or, some help?

arg617
Contributor
Hello,

I've been lurking this forum and others for a few years now. I've been using AutoCAD for over ten years and would love to switch to a more efficient work flow. As an essentially sole practitioner I have great hesitations actually making the switch.

I am familiar with AutoCAD, everyone I know that freelances for me knows AutoCAD, and most have not even heard of Archicad.

I am wondering how all of you did it. If you were to choose today would you still choose Archicad or Revit, or Vectoworks for that matter. I have briefly tried all three. Like I said, I really want a more efficient work flow, but I also don't want to alienate myself from the rest of the architectural community that I must work with.

My projects vary in size and scope. From high-end housing, multi-family/multi-use, hotel design, restaurant design, interior apartments, but even bathroom or deck legalization's at times.

It seems the world is moving to Revit, but to me, after taking a class and spending a couple of weeks with it. I just don't feel like I'm drawing when using it. It feels more like a spreadsheet to me, and very unintuitive.

Archicad felt better, but there are no classes and so far the tutorials are kind of lacking. I made it to Chapter 4.2 but still have no idea how to place a wall at an exact location once the red arrows the tutorial uses are gone........

I am now trying Vectorworks, which feels more natural but I'm still hesitant to jump ship.