BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

What do you use Complex Profiles for??

Anonymous
Not applicable
Good day,

I'm just getting into using complex profiles and I'm starting to develop a good list of favorites for our office. As of now, I only have some complex profiles for foundation walls with a footing and sill plate.

I am wondering, what do you use complex profiles for? I would think that you wouldn't use them for floors (as you can use the slab tool pretty nicely) or other parts of the building that can be easily modeled with other parts of the program, though I may be completely wrong on this.

Reply away...
34 REPLIES 34
Dwight
Newcomer
The complex profile replaces the now-obsolete Profiler because it is easily edited. And can follow a spline....

It makes more realistic sectional form:

Like:

Easily-edited domes.

Making shapes with interesting terminations and edges.

Any multi-material assemblies.

Situations with many unconnected parts that should remain in an exact relationship while being extruded.

Beams that slope.
010.jpg
Dwight Atkinson
Dwight
Newcomer
The ribs are all complex profiles.
Dwight Atkinson
Dwight
Newcomer
Following a spline
Dwight Atkinson
Dwight
Newcomer
Many separate things in a matrix
Dwight Atkinson
Anonymous
Not applicable

Ok ok, maybe I should have been more clear. I'm more interested in a residential scope (we are a very small firm, do not do stadiums!). They are beautiful and well drawn, but I don't think I'll be doing anything like that.

I guess I got what I asked for!

Great examples though!
David Maudlin
Virtuoso
Steven:

Also good for typical trim/finish elements, such as exterior corner boards (use as column), or eave & soffit assemblies (use as beam).

David
David Maudlin / Architect
www.davidmaudlin.com
Digital Architecture