cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
2024 Technology Preview Program

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Documentation
About Archicad's documenting tools, views, model filtering, layouts, publishing, etc.

View range - wall problem when hidden

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi guys, i am new to ArchiCAD and my question may be stupid for you but please give me an answer if you have the time...
I am posting a picture so you can understand...
So i have 2 slabs on 2 different heights. 0.00 & 0.68m. Now between the two slabs i have a low height wall (like the one highlighted on the right) so that the 3d model should be correct.
In 2d (floor plan) this wall should not be visible as it is directly under the 0.68m slab. With the default ArchiCAD settings this wall is shown although the slab is above (is the slab transparent in 2d mode???) and i have managed to hide it by using ABSOLUTE DISPLAY LIMIT!!!!
Well i thought i had solved my problem because the wall disappeared BUT a new problem occured on the edges of the 2 long walls that are cut and are shown. The wall cut lines are broken at the same points where the hidden low height wall intersects with the 2 long walls!!!!....
I tried to use BRING TO FRONT with the 2 long walls but did not work...
Any suggestions???
Thank you in advance,
Nikos
3 REPLIES 3
Barry Kelly
Slabs are indeed transparent in plan.
You can add a cover fill to them (in their settings dialogue) and then you can use the forward/backward display option or if you don't' want to see those wall in plan you could put them in a layer that gets turned of when viewing the plan but turned on when viewing elevations, sections & 3D.

Adding the extra layer may help with the cutting of the side walls.
The walls are simply trying to trim together - even hiding the layer will not stop them.