Due to a scheduled maintenance, a maximum 20 minutes license delivery outage may be expected on July 6 2024 (Saturday) between 6PM to 8PM (CEST).
Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.

NEWBIE QUESTION

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi, i'm new to this forum and actually very new to Archicad.
Alittle history of myself, i'm a 3d modeler using 3dsmax and photoshop for post production work.
I do photorealistic renderings for a company called Vortex Aquatic Structures International, i have been here for about 3 yrs now and i want to move on.

So i decided to give architural renderings a shot but i don't have a clue how to use it.

I have acouple question id you don't mind me asking..
your renderings are done in Archicad and is it rendered in 3dsmax or another third party application or is it all rendered in archicad.?
Archicad has Radiosity feature when rendering ?

Can models created in 3dsmax be imported into archicad or vise vera ?

Aldo wanted to knwo if any of you guys now if there's a dvd or cd training module out there that i may purchase to learn it..?

thanks for your time. !
3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable
howard wrote:
your renderings are done in Archicad and is it rendered in 3dsmax or another third party application or is it all rendered in archicad.?
ArchiCAD has the Lightworks engine (as well as a basic Phong engine) for rendering but unfortunately without radiosity. For that you still need to export to Cinema4D, 3DS Max or such.
3DS import and export are both supported (the former by an add-on). There are limitations due to the differences in the programs. 3DS is just a modeling/rendering format whereas ArchiCAD is a building modeler (3D is only part of what it does). So you will typically get better results from exporting than importing. I have had excellent result exporting 3DS to Cinema4D, but I believe there is now an add-on that exports directly to it.