cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
2024 Technology Preview Program

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.
SOLVED!

Degenerated Polygons? Everywhere!

Patrick M
Advisor

Can someone please explain to me why custom profile beams almost always have "degenerated polygons"? This session report comes up any time a project uses custom profiles. It's a very simple profile with about 7 nodes and a curved edge. The beam settings do not have any additional modifiers, it is not stretched in any way. There has to be something I'm missing, but I've done everything I can think of to fix files with degenerated polygons in the beams and I'm coming up empty. Anyone at GS here can shed light on it?

Beam 3d View.png

Beam Settings.png

Custom Profile.png

Session Report.png

 

Operating system used: Mac Apple Silicon Sonoma

     

BIM solutions and trouble shooting (self proclaimed) expert. Using Archicad 26 5002 US on Mac OS 11.5.2
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Barry Kelly
Moderator

I have no idea, but if I was to guess, I would suspect that tiny curved end.

Does the same error happen if you make it straight?

 

Barry.

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
i7-10700 @ 2.9Ghz, 32GB ram, GeForce RTX 2060 (6GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
Solution
Barry Kelly
Moderator

I have no idea, but if I was to guess, I would suspect that tiny curved end.

Does the same error happen if you make it straight?

 

Barry.

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
i7-10700 @ 2.9Ghz, 32GB ram, GeForce RTX 2060 (6GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
runxel
Legend

How thick is the thinnest part of yours?

After long discussions with the support some time ago I was told that one should not put details smaller than 3 mm in the profile, because they would inevitably create those degenerations.

Lucas Becker | AC 27 on Mac | Author of Runxel's Archicad Wiki | Editor at SelfGDL | Developer of the GDL plugin for Sublime Text | My List of AC shortcomings & bugs | I Will Piledrive You If You Mention AI Again |

«Furthermore, I consider that Carth... yearly releases must be destroyed»

I have successfully used fills 1mm thick in profiles (for sheet steel) but the ends have always been square.

 

BarryKelly_2-1710464089083.png

 

Larger curves seem OK.

I think the profiler may have trouble with smaller curves.

 

Barry.

 

 

 

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
i7-10700 @ 2.9Ghz, 32GB ram, GeForce RTX 2060 (6GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Lingwisyer
Guru

My guess is it is due to how AC simplifies curved complex profiles and how the curve resolution is hardcoded...

 

I was modelling taps recently and had to intentionally create large facetted curves to scale down in order to get any decent looking curves... Said facets come edges were removed after morph conversion.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win11 | i9 10850K | 64GB | RX6600 Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660

Something I've been complaining to Graphisoft about for years. It usually goes ignored. Therefore, I have to rely on workarounds such as:

 

  • Draw/import the profile in Rhino.
  • Divide and shatter curve using Grasshopper script.

  • Export as dwg.

  • Merge in Archicad.

  • Use magic wand to create fill for complex profile.

AC27 AUS, Windows 11, i9-13900KF, RTX3090, 128GB DDR5, 4k144 display

these are definitely more than 3mm

BIM solutions and trouble shooting (self proclaimed) expert. Using Archicad 26 5002 US on Mac OS 11.5.2

that appears to be the ticket. so maybe another "wish"? can we get custom profiles that work?

BIM solutions and trouble shooting (self proclaimed) expert. Using Archicad 26 5002 US on Mac OS 11.5.2
Patrick M
Advisor

I accepted a solution, but this is obviously not a solved issue. Archicad should be able to model curved ends/noses in custom profiles. The fact that it does, but reports it as an error is NOT a solution

BIM solutions and trouble shooting (self proclaimed) expert. Using Archicad 26 5002 US on Mac OS 11.5.2

@Patrick M wrote:

I accepted a solution, but this is obviously not a solved issue. Archicad should be able to model curved ends/noses in custom profiles. The fact that it does, but reports it as an error is NOT a solution


You can un-mark it as a solution if you want - just go to the three dots (option) at the side of the post.

Or I can un-mark it.

 

So, if you remove that little curved end, you don't get any errors?

What is the radius of that curve - I will try to replicate.

 

Barry.

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
i7-10700 @ 2.9Ghz, 32GB ram, GeForce RTX 2060 (6GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11

Setup info provided by author