cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
2024 Technology Preview Program

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Newbie question

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi all,
I'm new in ArchiCAD so I apologise for what I'm going to ask so be patiente please. Now the question.
I use pretty well Revit but I'm doing a deep look to ArchiCAD and I have some first questions:
1) In Revit we can work with masses as a first step when we are going to draw a new projet to have the first look of the building and get some fisical information (volume ecc...). Is there anything like that in ArchiCAD?
2) Can we set a wall to stay locked to something (a level, a slab...)?
3) Can we have several views of the same floor plane (for different scale and/or different purposes? The model is (of course) the same and we can add text/dim/labels, set different scale, different level of level of detail and so on...
4) IN Revit when you are placing a door or a window we get always some dimensioning to say where you are placing the door. IN ArchiCAD?
5) Can we do this in ArchiCAD (see image attached)?

Thanks in advance.
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable
mtogni wrote:
1) In Revit we can work with masses as a first step when we are going to draw a new projet to have the first look of the building and get some fisical information (volume ecc...). Is there anything like that in ArchiCAD?
You can use any of the tools in ArchiCAD to build up a preliminary model and get quantity information. ArchiCAD does not have a massing tool like Revit. It is very easy though to add walls, etc. to the massing geometry with the magic wand (space bar click).
2) Can we set a wall to stay locked to something (a level, a slab...)?
No. ArchiCAD does not have relationships like Revit.